The blowing Zen


A sound to attain Enlightenment

Shakuhachi,  a Japanese wind instrument made from a simple piece of bamboo and constituted of 5 holes, was a long time considered by Zen Buddhist monks of the sect Fuke (普化宗尺八) as an instrument of meditation. They did not use it as a musical instrument but as an instrument of the law enabling to reach Enlightenment. Suizen (吹禅) represents the blowing Zen, the meditation through the interpretation of the traditional Zen pieces.

In Europe, this wonderful instrument was introduced by the Great Master Takahashi Kûzan who, at his first travel in Europe in 1961 – as a representative of the academy of  music of Japan – made known this unique contemplative music in the world.

This page is an introduction to the history of Fuke Shakuhachi. I hope that it will allow the traveller stopping there to have a better knowledge of this great and still ignored art of  Japan, what is the Shakuhachi, and to approach the teaching of the Fuke-shû Shakuhachi.

This page contains Japanese characters. Fonts can be download on the Web.

Japanese names of the various persons introduced on this site are notified as follows; name precede first name as it is of use in Japan.

“Ajikan” album is available on iTunes

1 Ajikan – Arranged by Miyakawa Nyozan

2 Hifumi no Shirabe – Ichigetsuji Temple

3 Shirabe – Ichigetsuji/Reihôji Temples

4 Fukiawaseaizu – Reihôji/Ichigetsuji Temples

5 Takiochi – Fudaiji Temple

6 Oguruma – Shinoburyû Shakuhachi of the Ninja of Koga

7 Izayoi – Shinoburyû Shakuhachi of the Ninja of Koga

8 Môko Renbo – Mongolian Love

9 Takasago – Shinoburyû Shakuhachi of the Ninja of Koga

10 Kyûshû Reibo – Icchôken Temple

11 Mushi no Ne – Hitoyogiri Shakuhachi

12 Kyorei – Shôganji Temple

13 Kyo no Yo – Composed by Fukuhara Hyakunosuke

14 Yazagin – Composed by Takahashi Kûzan

15 Fantasia on Aji – Arranged by Ôno Ranzan

Copyright © Fuke Shakuhachi – All Rights Reserved